A Brief History of the Undead


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about why zombie shows and movies are so popular right now. It seems everywhere you go, there’s a new TV show about zombies, or another movie coming out. Vampires are popular as well, but it seems the zombie movies and TV show offerings are geared to an older, perhaps more mature crowd. The Walking Dead is a great show with solid acting and a great plot. The 28 Days Later and 28 Weeks Later movies were terrifying and brilliant, making us squirm and shake, silently praying we’d never become one of “those things”.

Well, guess what? You might already be a zombie. No, not in the literal sense of the word, at least not what you see on TV and on the big screen. Day in and day out, our society is chock full of people who go about their days in a stupor, not feeling anything and not seeing anything. They’re on autopilot, silently moving about as if they’ve been programmed by some evil supercomputer. Well, guess again, they HAVE been programmed. Our society tells us what to do and how to do it and when to do it, subtly letting us know that if by X age we have not reached X milestone, there might be something wrong with us. We are all adventurous and exploring little children, but through the years, as a result of disappointments and setbacks and lack of support from those who should know better, we start to conform, we start to obey. Our dreams start to get crushed and pushed aside. Our parents didn’t know any better, because they were taught the same thing, so they were doing the best they knew to do with the information they had, which we now know was not the best.

So we start living our life the way we’re told to and we start ignoring our inner voice, the one that tells us that we should be doing something different, that we are not really happy. But we press on, and we suppress that voice until eventually we can’t hear it anymore. It’s still there, but we’ve learned to block it out. How very efficient of us. Some never regain the ability to hear their own voice, and slowly die inside until their life is over and they never accomplished what they once set out to accomplish. Some of us, however, do start hearing that faint voice once again, and it stirs us to take action, because at a certain point in life (and that point is different for everybody) we know that what we were told to do didn’t work out, at least not for us. Some hear that voice and are able to just take off and follow its lead and change their life route immediately. Some of us must start a slow reversal process to undo the damage already inflicted on our souls, and slowly move up to the life we know we deserve. Just regaining that sense of direction and finding our passion again is a huge step forward. We’re working on getting back to that child-like wonder and sense of adventure and possibility in life. It might take us some time, but we’ll get there.

I used to say that the one thing I never want to be in life was jaded. I thought that jaded people were unhappy people, cynical people, bitter people. I’m not sure I feel any differently about them, but I’ve changed my motto. Now the one thing I never want to be in life is oblivious. I want to be present, I want to be here, now. I want to be mindful of where my life is going, mindful of my actions or lack thereof, mindful of what I want out of life and determined to go get it. Oblivious people are zombies. They don’t feel anymore, don’t see anymore. They’re the walking dead. Or perhaps a more accurate description is The Working Dead.

Are you a zombie? Do you feel like you don’t care anymore sometimes, that it’s just too hard to be a rebel, to live life your way? Don’t give up. There are a lot of us out there cheering you on. We’re all on this journey together, and we will make it together. We just have to believe in ourselves and push ourselves to make our lives matter. Be bold. Be risky. Be unorthodox. That’s really the only way to live life anyway.

***Did you enjoy this post? Please retweet it or share it on Facebook. Have any comments or questions? I’d love to hear from you! Leave a comment below or talk to me on Twitter. Thanks!!!***

13 thoughts on “A Brief History of the Undead

  1. Yes! One zombie here! Actually I consider myself a ‘vampire’. Because I can only seem to sleep (that is if I can sleep at all)at 6am which throws me off and I end up sleeping during the day. ha ha

  2. Great post, Rick, though the title had me a little worried 😉 Seriously though, that is a big reason we drastically made over our lives to ensure we weren’t just ozoning through our days, my post Wednesday touched a bit on this. We have noticed we see a little less of the zombie attitude here in the islands, people seem a little more engaged due to environment I’m sure. 🙂 Have a great nonzombie weekend!

  3. Hi Rick. Nice write up. I’m glad that I’m not the only person that thinks about how pointless it is to get paid to “show up” to work and do little else. Being able to recognize that life’s about more than settling for job security is a HUGE step in personal development. Thanks for the link. Cheers.

    1. Hi Shaun,

      Thanks for stopping by, man. It’s an honor for me to have you here!

      I just recently discovered your blog, and I’m still working my way through some of your articles, and I love your insight and your knowledge. When I read your post about the Working Dead, it triggered this flood of ideas that I had in an abstract blog in my head, and thanks to you, I was able to make sense of it. That’s why I wanted to make sure I gave you the credit your deserve. And yes, we need to keep telling people that there IS a better way to live. Some of them will listen and wake up and really start living. Thanks for all you do in this regard. You truly inspire me.

      Thanks again for your words of encouragement, and come back anytime!

      Rick

  4. This is great Rick. The zombie comparison is one I think of when I consider the ridiculousness of consumerism.

    I mean really, do you NEED to work longer and harder, so you can make more money, so you can buy more crap that you don’t have time to enjoy, so you can work longer and harder to get the money to take care of — or replace — said crap? Whew. Running in circles is exhausting.

    Once people realize that stepping off the merry-go-round is an option, I think they’ll jump off with enthusiasm. 😉

  5. Wonderful and intelligent description, thanks..i see zombies everywhere i go… i’m still alive… now i’m glad i’m not alone 😉

    1. Hi Victoria!

      Welcome to my blog and thank you for stopping by!

      Yes, they’re everywhere – in elevators, sitting in trains, driving cars… It’s so sad how some people live day in and day out. That’s why we must help them realize they can live a better life and be truly free. If they see that in us, hopefully it will awake their passion for living and help them break out of that daily boring mode they’re in. Yes, you are definitely alive. Keep living a full, exciting life, and help others along the way.

      Again, thanks for coming by and hope to see you here soon! 🙂

      Rick

  6. Great post! My partner loves zombie movies and can’t tell me why. Maybe he’s one himself? Nah, he’s just too lazy to think sometimes. For an uberless guy there’s a hell of a lot in this post. Illl have to go away and digest it.
    Deb

    1. Hi Deb!

      Great to see you here!!! LOL, you’re right, he can’t be a zombie – you’d have “cured” him by now! 😀

      I think I’m turning into an essayist, like Joshua from TheMinimalists.com! I can’t seem to stop at 300 words… LOL! Hopefully that means that I’ll eventually end up writing a book like him. I’m so glad you enjoyed the post, and please feel free to comment again or tweet me if you want to discuss.

      Again, awesome to see you here and take care! (and enjoy your baby MBA! hehe!)

      Rick

  7. Thanks Rick, your article is amazing. I almost broke down and cried while reading. Yes I’m one of those working zombies who was programmed to achieve X milestone at X age. It really moved something in me. Enlightening.

Leave a Reply

